History of Mount Moriah Cemetery

Mount Moriah Cemetery is an historic burial ground incorporated by an Act of the State Legislature in 1855, one of several rural cemeteries developed in Philadelphia between 1845 and 1860. The cemetery originally consisted of 54 acres. While reports indicate that the cemetery is 380 acres, a review of real estate records indicates that it is approximately 200 acres. Philadelphia and Yeadon share equal shares of the cemetery, which spans Cobbs Creek.

Due to the massive size of the cemetery, many churches and other organizations established smaller lots within its bounds. A Romanesque gatehouse fabricated from brownstone was designed by local architect Stephen Decatur Button in 1855. This was once the entrance to Mount Moriah on Islington Lane, today known as Kingsessing Avenue.

There is a naval plot located within the cemetery that is managed by the US Department of Veteran Affairs. They estimate more than 2,400 navy officers and sailors have been buried in Mount Moriah Naval Plot since the first interment on March 26, 1865. A separate Soldiers’ Lot is also managed by the department.

Since its founding, the Cemetery has been governed and cared for by the Mount Moriah Cemetery Association. In 2004, the last known member of that Association, Horatio C. Jones, Jr., passed away. From 2004 until March 2011, the Cemetery appears to have been operated by an employee of the Association.

Board of Managers

The Friends of Mount Moriah Cemetery is a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to the preservation and promotion of Mount Moriah Cemetery by honoring the memory of those interred here through community engagement, education, historic research, and restoration. The Friends’ tax identification number is 45-2247158. Financials are available upon request.

Formed in 2011, our Board of Managers consists of a diverse group of enthusiastic people who bring their unique skills and talents to address our needs and challenges. Our board members chair various committees that address historical records, environmental stewardship, building restoration, and communications.

  • Jennifer O'Donnell
  • Ken Smith
    Vice President
  • Ron Jones
  • Kate Benisek
    Board Secretary
  • William Warwick
  • Michael Brown
    Board Member
  • Joanna Cosgrove
    Board Member
  • Richard Miller
    Board Member
  • Melissa Santangelo
    Board Member
  • John Schmehl, Jr.
    Board Member
  • Ed Snyder
    Board Member
  • Patrick Twilley
    Board Member
  • Harvard Wood
    Board Member